Compare co-parenting apps

Shared Steps vs TalkingParents

TalkingParents is a US co-parenting platform built around records that courts accept, including recorded calls. Shared Steps is a UK app for families after mediation, built for running an agreement day to day. Here's how they compare.

What the two of you pay

Shared StepsOne price per family

Monthly
£7.99a month for the whole family
Yearly
£69.99a year for the whole family

Free to try

TalkingParentsCharged per parent

Monthly
$14a month for two: $7 each on Essentials, in US dollars
Yearly
About $155a year for two: $7 a month each, 8% off when paid yearly

30-day trial

At a glance

  • Yes:
  • Partly:
  • No:
  • Not stated:
FeatureShared StepsTalkingParents
Cost
Price£7.99 a month or £69.99 a yearFrom $7 a month per parent (US dollars); no prices in pounds found
One subscription covers both parentsYes: Either parent subscribes; the other is coveredPartly: Plans are per parent, and each parent can choose a different plan
Free trialYes: Start with a free trialYes: 30-day trial; no free plan since 30 March 2026
Planning together
Shared calendarYes: Month, week and day views, with regular rotasYes: Shared calendar with recurring events
Agreeing changesYes: Proposals; the calendar changes only once you both agreePartly: The other parent is notified of edits; an approval step isn't described
Shared costsYes: Log a cost with its receipt, agree it, see who owes whatPartly: Accountable Payments need a US bank account
Shared documentsYes: PDFs and photos stored privately for both parents, organised by child and type, with renewal reminders that can hold the scanYes: Info Library and Vault
Talking to each other
MessagingYes: Messages with replies, reactions and searchYes: Timestamped messages that can't be edited
Tone check before sendingYes: A private calm check that runs on your phone and never blocks a messagePartly: Sentiment Scanner and Writing Assist on the Ultimate plan only
Calls without sharing numbersYes: Voice, with video if you both switch it on; your own call hoursPartly: Phone and video calls, all recorded and transcribed; phone calls need a US or Canadian number
Privacy and access
Handover check-insYes: No GPS: only the update and time you choose to sendNot stated: Not stated on its website
Access for your childYes: A simple read-only view of where they'll beNot stated: Not stated on its website
Mediators and professionalsYes: Your mediator sees only the review requests you sendNo: No third-party access for legal professionals
Records and devices
Court-ready recordsNo: Built for day-to-day co-parenting, not for gathering evidenceYes: Certified Unalterable Records, as PDFs or printed (prints aren't posted abroad)
Web appNo: iPhone and AndroidYes: Web, iPhone and Android
Made for UK familiesYes: Made in the UK, with UK pricesPartly: Available in the UK, but calls by phone number and payments are US and Canada only

Where TalkingParents is strong

  • Built around records it says courts in all 50 US states accept.
  • Every call is recorded and transcribed, which some parents want for accountability.
  • Each parent can choose their own plan, and fee waivers are available.

Where Shared Steps is different

  • Made for UK families, with prices in pounds and nothing that needs a US phone number or bank account.
  • Calls aren't recorded. You each set your own call hours and can pause calls whenever you need to.
  • One subscription covers both parents.
  • Changes are proposals, and the calendar only changes once you both agree.

Which is right for you?

TalkingParents may suit you if

your situation is high-conflict and you want every call and message recorded as evidence, or your case is in the US.

Shared Steps may suit you if

you're in the UK, have reached an agreement, and want a calmer place to run it rather than a record built for court.

Hear when it's out

Questions

Does TalkingParents work in the UK?

TalkingParents says it is available in the UK and Ireland, but its own FAQ says phone calls only work with US or Canadian numbers and payments need a US bank account. Video calls work wherever they're available.

Is TalkingParents still free?

No. TalkingParents says the app needs a paid subscription from 30 March 2026, with plans from $7 a month per parent after a 30-day trial.

Does Shared Steps record calls?

No. The sound and any video of a call pass live between your phones and are not recorded or kept. Shared Steps keeps only who called whom, when, and for how long.